get it here
release date
21 Sep 2017

Available in digital and physical CD&DVD Release date: September 21, 2017

Iñaki Sandoval “Estonian Suite: Live in Tallinn”

  • 1-5. Suite for Piano No. 1, «Chorale», in G Major
  • 6. After the Rain
  • 7. Suite for piano No. 2 «Mimesis», in B minor
  • 8-9. Two Nocturnes
  • 10. Harmonic Etudes
  • 11. The Old Tree
  • 12. Ilus on Maa
  • 13. Viljandi
  • ---
  • All compositions by Iñaki Sandoval except "Ilus on Maa", by Rein Rannap

Iñaki Sandoval, piano

The music of “Estonian Suite: Live in Tallinn” is inspired by Estonia: its people, traditions and culture, its beautiful nature and landscapes, forests, lakes and rivers, its peacefulness, winter, solitude and silence. Under the prism of jazz and improvisation, the language is closer to the classical and impressionist music of the 20th century with influences of minimalism, folk and popular music.

“Estonian Suite” invites to withdrawal, meditation and inner reflection, even to listen with closed eyes. The piano is located in the middle of the concert hall, with soft lighting and the audience forming a circle around the interpreter. The proximity of the artist and the audience make it possible to listen actively and closely, receiving directly the vibrations of the strings of the piano without intermediation. This is when the music no longer belongs to the artist, but to the listener.

The live concert was recorded in Tallinn (Estonia) on March 15, 2017. The program is entirely composed by Iñaki Sandoval, featuring works from the three studio albums which conform The Estonian Trilogy: “Winter Poems”, “Mimesis”, and “Harmonic Etudes”, which will be released in 2018.


Recorded live at Tallinn Philharmonic Society - Mustpeade Maja, Estonia

March 15, 2017

Sound engineer: Janar Paeglis

Film director: Tauno Uibo

Produced by Iñaki Sandoval

Follow Iñaki on Facebook and Twitter